New Feature: Collaborate Effectively with Workflow Tasks

This has been a very exciting month for Onehub! We’re happy to announce a major new feature: Workflow Tasks. With Workflow Tasks you can ask people in your Workspace to review or approve files. You and your team can comment and communicate about these workflow tasks, and track them toward completion in the new Workspace tasks page.

Try it now! Go to any file and click on that fancy new tasks tab to create your first workflow for a fellow workspace member.

Creating your first workflow task

We spent a lot of time thinking, iterating, and mocking up ideas on how to make task creation as smooth as possible. We initially had lots of clicking and typing that you needed to do, but the more we used it, the more we realized we needed to remove any and all friction in this process.

tasks-create

The result? If all you need is someone to approve a particular file, just choose the assignee, and click “Create Task”. No title or comments is needed, and “Approve” is already pre-selected.

Once you start creating tasks, we’re sure you’ll want to create some more. Want your board members to review the minutes from the latest meeting? Assign a Review Task to all of them. Need the head of marketing to approve the ad copy for an upcoming campaign? It’s just a few clicks away.

Workflow tasks have comments

Each workflow task has its own stream of comments, letting you communicate directly with the people involved with a task to follow up with a question or give some feedback. You can also add a comment while completing a task. This builds up a nice-looking activity feed for each task as it makes its way through to completion.

tasks-page2

All your tasks, in one place

The more you use workflow tasks, the more powerful this feature becomes. We’ve added a tasks page to give you a way to view the tasks for a workspace in a few different ways:

  • Inbox: This is all the tasks that are assigned to you.
  • Outbox: This is all the tasks you’ve assigned to others in the Workspace.
  • All Tasks: You guessed it! All tasks is an overview of all the tasks in the Workspace.

Our Goal: Better workflows

Onehub is all about giving you the best experience possible when sharing and collaborating with your files. That was our guiding principle in building the workflow tasks feature.

We didn’t want to build a stand-alone project management application bolted onto your Workspaces. Instead, we focused on the types of interactions that encourage building flexible workflows around files.

We hope you’re at least a little bit as excited as we are about this feature. To get started using tasks, just go to a file and click on that brand new task tab to create your first task.

Create and Edit Files from Onehub with Google Drive

We are happy to announce the release of our new Google Drive integration. Starting today, you can now create and edit files directly within Onehub. The next time you sign in, you’ll see the following two new buttons in your Workspaces…

Create

You’ll find the Create button on the toolbar of the Files page inside your Workspaces. This button displays a modal that contains a button for each of the Google Drive file types along with the existing Create Folder button. The very first time you attempt to create a file, you will be asked to connect your Onehub and Google accounts. After that, you’ll be able to seamlessly create documents, spreadsheets, presentations, or drawings with one click. Created files will be added to your Workspace in the corresponding file formats – DOCX, XLSX, PPTX, PNG.

Edit

In addition to creating files in Onehub, you can now edit files as well. The Edit button can be found on the preview page of any supported file type, including files that you previously uploaded (not created via Google Drive). If the file you’re editing is not a format that Google Drive can create, your updates will be saved back to Onehub in the corresponding format. For example, if you edit Filename.doc, that file will become Filename.docx. Rest assured, your entire version history will be kept intact, only the file extension will be modified. In addition, we fully support Google Drive’s collaborative editing feature. This allows multiple Workspace users to edit the exact same document collaboratively, in real-time. When the last editor saves, all of the group’s changes will be saved back to Onehub.

For more information on this feature including browser requirements and file support, please read our Google Drive support articles. As always, if you have any feedback, we’d love to hear it – post a comment below or email support@onehub.com.